Sunday, 2 March 2008

2008 Prime Minister's Literary Awards

One for Aussie Authors ...

Entries are now open for the 2008 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, a new initiative celebrating the contribution of Australian literature to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. The Awards recognise literature’s importance to our national identity, community and economy.

A prize of $100 000 will be awarded to the work judged to be of the highest literary merit in each of two categories:

  • Fiction
  • Non-Fiction

The Australian Government is preparing legislation to exempt the Awards from income tax, but at this time the legislation is yet to be passed.

Authors, publishers and literary agents are eligible to enter books written by living Australian citizens and permanent residents. Works must be first published in English and first offered for general sale between 1 January and 31 December 2007.

Entry forms for the Awards and guidelines, outlining eligibility criteria and providing further information, are available on the Arts and Culture Web Site.

(c) Pamela Weatherill 2008

No comments: